

April 28, 2024

The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Biden:

We are current and former elected Tribal leaders and leaders of national Tribal organizations who join our voices with the many others around the globe who have called out for the end of Leonard Peltier's long incarceration. We urge you to support his compassionate release at the Bureau of Prisons.

The current facts of Mr. Peltier's imprisonment call out for mercy: he is a 79-year-old enrolled citizen of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians (ND) who is in his 48th year of incarceration at the maximum-security United States Penitentiary, Coleman outside of Orlando, FL. Recent statements in support of compassionate release for Mr. Peltier from key individuals involved in his prosecution have given new weight to our ask of you. We cannot claim in good faith that the fundamental guarantees of justice and accountability extend to all Americans until we heed this call for action.

For the majority of his life, Leonard Peltier has been serving a sentence based on a conviction that would not hold up in court today. Mr. Peltier's continued incarceration is a symbol to Native Americans of the systemic inequities of the criminal justice system in America. The failure of the United States to recognize this injustice is preventing our community from healing and moving forward. Our request for his compassionate release is a plea for healing and reconciliation as much as it is a call for justice.

Mr. President, we honor your demonstrated commitment to Indian Country. You have stood with us many times - both in the White House and in the U.S. Senate. We ask that you urgently consider this opportunity to support the compassionate release of our country's longest-serving Indigenous prisoner. Stand with us again.

Signatories to Tribal Leader Letter to President Joe Biden Requesting the Compassionate Release of Leonard Peltier

Name:	Title:	Tribe/Organization:
 Mark Macarro 	President	National Congress of American Indians
2. Fawn Sharp	Former President	National Congress of American Indians
3. Brian Cladoosby	Former President	National Congress of American Indians
4. Suzan Shown Harjo	Fmr. Exec. Dir.	National Congress of American Indians
5. Ernest Stevens, Jr.	Chairman	Indian Gaming Association
6. Nick Tilsen	President/CEO	NDN Collective
7. Crystal Echo Hawk	Executive Director	IllumiNative
8. Confederated Tribes	Tribal Council	Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde (OR)
Of Grand Ronde		
9. Darin Beltran	Tribal Chairman	Koi Nation of Northern California (CA)
10. Lora Ann Chaisson	Principal Chief	United Houma Nation (LA)
11. Catherine Chavers	Chairwoman	Bois Forte Band of Chippewa (MN)
12. Francis Charles	Tribal Chairman	Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe (WA)
13. Michelle Heredia-	Tribal Chairwoman	Table Mountain Rancheria (CA)
Cordova		
14. Kirk Francis	Tribal Chief	Penobscot Nation (ME)
15. Willie Frank III	Tribal Chairman	Nisqually Indian Tribe (WA)
16. Reno Franklin	Chairman	Kashia Band of Pomo Indians (CA)
17. Dustim Klatush	Tribal Chairman	Confederated Tribes of the
		Chehalis Reservation (WA)
18. Robert Larsen		· /
10. Robert Larsen	President	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN)
19. Ryman Lebeau	President Tribal Chairman	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
		Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN)
19. Ryman Lebeau	Tribal Chairman	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (SD)
19. Ryman Lebeau20. Gerald Lewis	Tribal Chairman Chairman	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (SD) Yakama Nation (WA)
19. Ryman Lebeau20. Gerald Lewis21. Erica Pinto	Tribal Chairman Chairman Tribal Chairwoman	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (SD) Yakama Nation (WA) Jamul Indian Village of California Redding Rancheria (CA) Ponca Tribe of Nebraska (NE)
19. Ryman Lebeau20. Gerald Lewis21. Erica Pinto22. Jack Potter, Jr.23. Candace Schmidt24. Darrell G. Seki, Sr.	Tribal Chairman Chairman Tribal Chairman Tribal Chairman Chairwoman Tribal Chairman	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (SD) Yakama Nation (WA) Jamul Indian Village of California Redding Rancheria (CA) Ponca Tribe of Nebraska (NE) Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians (MN)
 19. Ryman Lebeau 20. Gerald Lewis 21. Erica Pinto 22. Jack Potter, Jr. 23. Candace Schmidt 24. Darrell G. Seki, Sr. 25. Frank Star Comes Out 	Tribal Chairman Chairman Tribal Chairwoman Tribal Chairman Chairwoman Tribal Chairman President	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (SD) Yakama Nation (WA) Jamul Indian Village of California Redding Rancheria (CA) Ponca Tribe of Nebraska (NE) Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians (MN) Oglala Sioux Tribe (SD)
 19. Ryman Lebeau 20. Gerald Lewis 21. Erica Pinto 22. Jack Potter, Jr. 23. Candace Schmidt 24. Darrell G. Seki, Sr. 25. Frank Star Comes Out 26. Timothy Swallow 	Tribal Chairman Chairman Tribal Chairman Tribal Chairman Chairwoman Tribal Chairman President Traditional Chief	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (SD) Yakama Nation (WA) Jamul Indian Village of California Redding Rancheria (CA) Ponca Tribe of Nebraska (NE) Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians (MN) Oglala Sioux Tribe (SD) Oglala Sioux Tribe (SD)
 19. Ryman Lebeau 20. Gerald Lewis 21. Erica Pinto 22. Jack Potter, Jr. 23. Candace Schmidt 24. Darrell G. Seki, Sr. 25. Frank Star Comes Out 	Tribal Chairman Chairman Tribal Chairwoman Tribal Chairman Chairwoman Tribal Chairman President	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (SD) Yakama Nation (WA) Jamul Indian Village of California Redding Rancheria (CA) Ponca Tribe of Nebraska (NE) Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians (MN) Oglala Sioux Tribe (SD)

20. Dia - Daltara	Via Chairman	Wei Nietiene CNietler Celifernie (CA)
29. Dino Beltran30. Damien Cordova	Vice Chairman	Koi Nation of Northern California (CA)
	BOD	Dry Creek Rancheria (CA)
31. Lilith Court	Secretary	Skull Valley Band of Goshutes
32. LaShunna Davidson	Fmr. Tribal Treas.	Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation (CA)
33. Christopher Eagle Bear	Tribal Council	Rosebud Sioux Tribe (SD)
34. LeRoy Staples Fairbanks		Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe
35. Cheebo Frazier	Traditional Healing	Nisqually
	Board	
36. Laura Galvan	Chair/CEO	Nisenan Miwok Collective (CA)
37. Lynn Gourneau	Tribal Council	Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa (ND)
38. Jonetta Herrera	DED	Confederated Tribes of the
		Umatilla Indian Reservation (OR)
39. Beverly Hunter	(Fmr.) Tribal	Table Mountain Rancheria (CA)
	Chairwoman	
40. Floyd Jourdain, Jr.	(Fmr.) Tribal	Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians (MN)
	Chairman	
41. Ryan Jumping Eagle	Tribal Councilman	Oglala Sioux Tribe (SD)
42. Kevin Killer	(Fmr.) President	Oglala Sioux Tribe (SD)
43. Tracy Ching King	Vice Chairman	Coalition of Large Tribes (COLT)
44. Silver Little Eagle	Tribal Council	Northern Cheyenne (MT)
45. Robert McGhee	Vice Chairman	Poarch Band of Creek Indians (AL)
46. Latisha Miller	Vice Chairwoman	Paskenta Band of Nomlaki Indians (CA)
47. Aaron Payment	(Fmr.) Tribal	Sault Ste. Marie Band of Chippewa Indians
	Chairman	(MI)
48. Debra Posey	Board of Directors	Tulalip Tribes (WA)
49. Robert Prescott	Vice President	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN)
50. Tyler Prescott	Asst. Sec./Treas.	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN)
51. Jordan Rahn	Tribal Council	Rosebud Sioux Tribe (SD)
52. George Rivera	(Fmr.) Governor	Pueblo of Pojoaque (NM)
53. Darwin St. Clair, Jr.	(Fmr.) Chairman	Eastern Shoshone Tribe (WY)
54. Kristi Schoen	Treasurer	Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN)
55. Carl Slater	Council Delegate	Navajo Nation (AZ/NM/CO/UT)
56. Ray Williams	Vice President	Chappaquiddick Wampanoag Tribe (MA)
57. Newmie Wilson	Tribal Council	Pit River Tribe (CA)
58. Shere Wright-Plank	Tribal Council	Rosebud Sioux Tribe (SD)
O		(/